

## **Indian Academy of Biomedical Sciences**

(Registration No. 2826-2011-2012, registered under Societies Registration Act 1860 of Government of India)

The Indian Academy of Biomedical Sciences (Regd.) has been established with the vision, keen interest, and efforts of several scientists from India and abroad. The Academy continues to grow and thrive in maintaining the main objective of promoting translational research covering different human diseases and their management. The Academy serves the purpose of disseminating knowledge and promoting academic excellence in the field of Biomedical Sciences. Till date, Nine Annual Conferences, as well as numerous CMEs and Mini Symposia, have been organized at different places under the banner of IABS. **Date of Annual Conference of the Academy to be announced when COVID-19 pandemic subsides**. Log on to www.iabs.in for more information and updates regarding the Conference.

## The Academy has instituted following awards for promoting academic excellence:

**Padma Shri Prof. Mahdi Hasan Award** for an eminent Scientist who has made outstanding contributions in Biomedical Sciences especially in Clinical Research. The Award has been instituted out of an endowment made by Prof. Abbas Ali Mahdi, to commemorate the memory of his father late Professor Mahdi Hasan, an Eminent Medical Teacher & Scientist and Founder Patron of the Academy (Former Principal/Dean/Director, J.N. Medical College, AMU, Aligarh).

Recipient of 2014: Prof. Lalit Kumar (AIIMS, New Delhi) Recipient of 2015: Dr. Naresh Trehan, (Medanta–Gurgaon) Recipient of 2016: Prof. Raj Kumar (SGPGI, Lucknow) Recipient of 2017: Prof. R.K. Garg (KGMU, Lucknow) Recipient of 2018: Prof. S.K. Sarin (ILBS, New Delhi), Recipient of 2019: Prof. Rakesh Bhatnagar(BHU, Varansi). Recipient of 2020: Prof. Balram Bhargava (DG-ICMR, New Delhi).

**Prof. Sohail Ahmad Award** for an eminent Scientist who has made outstanding contributions in Biomedical Sciences especially in Basic Research. The Award has been instituted out of an endowment made by Prof. Shad Bano Ahmad, to commemorate the memory of her husband late Professor Sohail Ahmad, an Eminent Medical Scientist (Former Professor & Chairman, Department of Microbiology, J.N. Medical College, AMU, Aligarh).

**Recipient of 2014:** Prof. D.N. Rao (AIIMS, New Delhi) Recipient of 2015: Prof. S.M. Hadi (AMU. Aligarh) **Recipient of 2016:** Prof. Rajendra Prasad (PGI, Chandigarh) **Recipient of 2017:** Dr. S. Swarnkar (CSIR – IICB, Kolkata) **Recipient of 2018:** Dr. Ashis K. Mukherjee (Tezpur University, Assam) **Recipient of 2019**: Prof. SV Rana (AIIMS, Rishikesh), **Recipient of 2020**: Prof. Asad Ullah Khan (AMU, Aligarh)

**Smt. Kusum Sharma Award** for a Young Woman Scientist who has made outstanding contributions in Biomedical Research (age: below 40 years, as on 1<sup>st</sup> January of the year of conference). The Award has been instituted out of an endowment made by Dr. Belu Sharma to commemorate the memory of her mother late Smt. Kusum Sharma, a thorough gentle and affectionate lady. **Recipient of 2014:** Dr. Sarika Gupta (NII, New Delhi) **Recipient of 2015:** Dr. Medha R. (JIPMER. Puducherry) **Recipient of 2016:** Dr. Binita Goswami (LHMC, New Delhi) **Recipient of 2017:** Dr. Yasmin Ahmad (DRDO, New Delhi) **Recipient of 2018:** Dr. Parul Mishra (University of Hyderabad), **Recipient of 2019:** Dr. Khushboo Irshad (AIIMS, New Delhi). **Recipient of 2020:** Dr. Sushmita Jha (IIT, Jodhpour)

**Prof. Nurul Islam Award for best paper presentation made at the Annual Meeting of the Academy by a young scientist** (age: below 40 years, as on 1<sup>st</sup> January of the year of conference).

The Award has been instituted out of an endowment made by Prof. Najmul Islam to commemorate the memory of his father late Prof. Nurul Islam (Former Dean, Faculty of Science, Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh).

**Recipient of 2014:** Dr. Santosh Kumar (Srichitra IMS, Thiruvananthapuram) **Recipient of 2015:** Dr. Asim Rizvi (AMU, Aligarh) **Recipient of 2016:** Dr. Mohd. Kaleem Ahmad (KGMU, Lucknow) **Recipient of 2017:** Dr. Nisar-ul-Ashraf (K.U., Srinagar) **Recipient of 2018:** Dr. Sunil Jamuna Tripathi (NIMHANS, Bengaluru), **Recipient of 2019:** Miss Tazeem Fathima (NIMS, Hyderabad).

**Shri. Om Prakash Sharma Award** for a Young Scientist who has made outstanding contributions in Biomedical Research (age: below 45 years, as on 1st January of the year of conference). The Award has been instituted out of an endowment made by Prof. Alpana Sharma to commemorate the memory of her father late Shri Om Prakash Sharma.

Recipient of 2015: Dr. S.K. Saxena (CCMB, Hyderabad) Recipient of 2016: Dr. R. Chaturvedi (IITR, Lucknow) Recipient of 2017: Dr. Amit Misra (IIT, Jodhpur) Recipient of 2018: Dr. P. Gopinath (IIT, Roorkee) Recipient of 2019: Dr. Subash C Gupta (BHU, Varanasi) Recipient of 2020: Dr. Sanjay K Banerji (NIPER, Guwahati)

**Mrs. Farha Deeba Haq** Award for a Young Scientist who has made outstanding contributions in the field of Cancer Research (age: below 45 years, as on 1<sup>st</sup> January of the year of Conference). The Award has been instituted out of an endowment made by Dr. Afrozul Haq to commemorate the memory of his wife late Mrs. Farah Deeba.

Recipient of 2015: Dr. Suaib Luqman (CIMAP, Lucknow) Recipient of 2016: Dr. Mehdi H. Shahi (AMU, Aligarh) Recipient of 2017: Dr. Hifzur R. Siddiqui (AMU, Aligarh) Recipient of 2018: Dr. Arif Uddin (Assam) Recipient of 2019: Dr. Sulochna Priya (NIIST,Trivandrum) Recipient of 2020: Dr. Amit Kunwar (BARC Mumbai).

**Mrs. Abida Mahdi Award** for a Scientist who has made outstanding contributions in the field of Neuroscience Research. The Award has been instituted out of an endowment made by Prof. Farzana Mahdi to commemorate the memory of her mother-in-law late Mrs. Abida Mahdi.

**Recipient of 2015:** Prof. Rakesh Shukla (KGMU, Lucknow) **Recipient of 2016:** Dr. Sandeep Tripathi (NIMS, Jaipur) **Recipient of 2017:** Dr. Kunzang Chosdol (AIIMS, New Delhi) **Recipient of**